Pitt | Swanson Engineering
Award Opportunities

Specific information regarding guidelines for the following monetary awards will be sent via email to the undergraduate student body. 

The Chemical and Petroleum Engineering Faculty select the winners for the following awards:  

American Institute of Chemical Engineers Award (also known as the Professional Promise Award)

This award is granted to senior AIChE members that have excellent academic records and also have internship, coop, and/or research experience that will make them successful in their career after graduation. Consider this as a "most likely to succeed" type of award rather than one based strictly on performance in school.

The winner of the AIChE Professional Promise Award must commit to attending the AIChE Local Section Student Night in February (even if they have already graduated).  If the student will not make this commitment, they cannot accept the award.

Covestro Undergraduate Award in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Petroleum Engineering

Awarded to outstanding students in the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering.

Lubrizol Undergraduate Award in the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering

Awarded to outstanding junior and senior students demonstrating high academic achievement in the Chemical Engineering degree program.

Paul F. Fulton Memorial Scholarship

This is awarded to a petroleum engineering student. Dr. Fulton was a professor and head of the Petroleum Engineering Department.

Dr. Morsi is solely responsible for the selection of this award.

Margaret A. Thomas Award

This is awarded to the undergraduate woman in the Chemical Engineering degree program that exhibits excellence in academics, research and/or internships/coops. Margaret Thomas was a chemical engineering student who died suddenly in an auto accident after she graduated.

Chiang Scholarship

Outstanding students in Chemical Engineering. Named in honor of Shio-ming Chiang, Dr. Chiang's mother, who greatly influenced his academic career. 

Edward B. Stuart and Geraldine J. Stuart Memorial Scholarship

Dr. Stewart was a former head of the Chemical Engineering Department and Dean of the School of Engineering. This scholarship is provided to a deserving undergraduate in the Chemical Engineering degree program currently enrolled as a sophomore or junior. This award would be based on "academic promise, integrity, creativity and eagerness".

John W. Tierney Scholarship

For a junior or senior chemical engineer. Named for our Professor, Dr. Tierney.

PPG Poster Competition at the OXE Departmental Research Day

All students who have completed one or more CHE 1097 or PETE 1097 research courses must compete and present a poster on their work at least one time prior to graduation to receive credit for CHE 1097 or PETE 1097. This assignment also involves research or a task associated with an industry while on CoOp or an internship. Cash awards will be given to top presenters at the annual OXE Departmental Research Day.