Tianyu Chen, MS

Research Engineer

Tianyu Chen is the research engineer for the Orthopaedic Robotics Laboratory. He graduated from Carnegie Mellon University with a Master of Science degree in Biomedical Engineering. Tianyu is currently working on a variety of research projects in the lab involving the knee and shoulder joints. 

Lydia Canturk

PhD Candidate

Lidya is a graduate student from Istanbul, Turkey. She graduated from the University of Alabama at Birmingham with a Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering with a minor in Mechanical Engineering. Lidya’s work focuses on the long-term durability of the effects of exercise therapy on rotator cuff tears depending on clinical, biomechanical, and patient-reported parameters. 


Luke Mattar, PhD

Post-Doctoral Researcher  

Luke Mattar is a post-doctoral associate in the department of Orthopaedic Surgery and his work was supported by a National Institutes of Health grant. Luke graduated from the University of Connecticut with a Bachelor's of Science in Biomedical Engineering with a concentration in Biomechanics. Luke's work is focused on predicting the outcome of exercise therapy for treatment of rotator cuff tears based upon in vivo kinematic analyses and various other parameters.

Marc-Olivier St-Pierre, PhD
Marco smiling

Post-doc Researcher

Dr. St-Pierre completed his PhD in Biomedical Sciences in August 2023 under the supervision of Prof. Stéphane Sobczak and Prof.  Mickaël Begon at the University of Quebec in Trois-Rivieres, Canda. His thesis work focused on improving understanding of the biomechanics of anatomical structures of the hip during clinical assessment. More specifically, Dr. St-Pierre presented the variations in synovial fluid in the lateral and medial compartments of the joint capsule. In addition, he reported on ligament strains within the iliofemoral ligament using surface scanning. 

Jumpei Inoue, MD

Post-Doctoral Researcher

Jumpei Inoue is an orthopedic surgeon from Nagoya City University in Japan. His research interests are shoulder biomechanics using the robotic system and ultrasound. His current research focuses on individual capsule repair based on non-recoverable strain after glenohumeral joint dislocation.

Efstathios Konstantinou, MD, MSc

Post-Doctoral Research Fellow

Efstathios is the chief resident in the Orthopaedic Department of the University Hospital of Larisa, Greece. His Master's thesis focused on the biomechanics of the cervical spine, and his PhD project focuses on the clinical and functional outcomes of the arthroscopic repair of rotator cuff tears. His research interests include arthroscopy around the shoulder and knee and sports medicine.

Gillian Ahrendt, MD
A smiling person

Orthopaedic Surgery Resident

Gillian is a second year Orthopaedic Surgery resident at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center training to become an Orthopaedic Surgeon. She is currently working on shouldering dislocation project to correlate capsule surface area and non-recoverable strain.

Anja Wackerle, MD

Research Fellow

After graduating from medschool at the University of Regensburg (Germany) Anja started her orthpaedic residency at the university hospital Eppendorf (UKE, Hamburg, 2021) and Technical University of Munich (TUM, 2023). She is currently a research fellow and primarily involved in Pediatric Quad Tendon project. Her special interests include sports injuries of knee and shoulder..

Karina Dias, MD

Research Fellow

Karina Dias is a Medical Doctor from Brazil. She is an Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine Research Fellow with interests in knee and shoulder. She is currently working on histology for pediatric quad tendons project.


Clinicians Engineers
Bart Muller, MD (Netherlands)  Jonathan Brokaw
Shoko Horibata (Japan)  Lee Maccarone
Yoshimasa Fujimaki, MD (Japan)  Hillary Newsome 
Marcus Hofbauer, MD (Austria)  Malcolm Dombrowski 
Ingo Banke, MD (Germany)  Ryan Moss 
Yaniv Michaeli (Israel)   Benjamin Engel 
Bruno Ohashi, MD (Brazil)  Stephanie Rigot 
Haukur Björnsson, MD (Sweden)  Margaret Anne Smith (Carnegie Mellon University) 
Arnd Hoburg, MD (Germany) Audra Sawyer (Boston University) 
Daisuke Araki, MD (Japan)   Laura Bechard 
Fabio Arilla, MD (Brazil)  Joe Takahashi  
Daniel Günther, MD (Germany)  Stephanie Sexton  
Masahito Yoshida, MD (Japan)  Trenton Gilstrap 
Jason Zlotnicki, MD  Emily Anthony 
Thomas Pfeiffer, MD (Germany)  Patrick Haggerty 
Jan Hendrik-Naendrup, MD (Germany)   Chris Como (Michigan) 
Amir Ata Rahnemai-Azar, MD  Jackie Shauble 
Elmar Herbst, MD (Germany) Kyle Berkow (Epic)
Conor Murphy, MD Samik Patel 
Tetsuya Takenaga, MD (Japan) Toni Patterson, MS 
João Novaretti, MD (Brazil) Kevin Bell, PhD 
Neel Patel, MD R Matthew Miller, PhD (Worcester Academy) 
Kanto Nagai, MD, PhD (Japan) Jonathan Adam Gustafson, PhD (RUSH) 
Tomoyuki Suzuki, MD (Japan) Ryan Black 
Theresa Diermeier, MD (Germany) James Gorrenflo 
Itamar Neto, MD (Brazil) Benjamin Roadarmel  
Robert Tisherman, MD Sarah Hensley
Thomas Rauer, MD (Switzerland) Catherine Smith
Guoming Xie, MD (China) Joseph Greaves (Pennsylvania State University)
Christopher Gibbs, MD Matthew Navarro (Clemson University)
Yuji Yano, RN (Japan) Samantha Rowen (Northwestern University)
Soichi Hattori, MD (Japan) Gal Partush (Israel)
Satoshi Takeuchi, MD (Japan) Gerald Ferrer, PhD (ARCCA)
Phillip Winkler, MD  Michael Kassabian
Nyaluma Wagala, MD Rachel Martello
Ehab Nazzal, MD Taylor Lister
Keishi Takaba, MD (Japan) Jocelyn Hawk (University of Arizona)
Gian Andrea Lucidi, MD Satoshi Yamakawa, PhD (Osaka University)
Kengo Shimozaki, MD (Japan) Tyler Wilps, BS (Temple University)
Satoshi Takeuchi, MD Calvin Chan, MS
Svenja Hoger, MD (Germany) Yukun Zhang, MS
Zach Herman, MD Sene Polamalu, PhD
Yoshiyuki Yahagi, MD (Japan) Yulia Yatsenko
  Taylor Brightman
  Onyebuchi Ezeakudo
  Ben Newell
  Rachel Mcloughlin
  Abigail Book
  Jacqueline McHale
  Stephan Canton
  Sebastian Fearon
  Ryan Fry
  Ron Curel (Braude College, Israel)
  Gal Peretz (Braude College, Israel)
  Jayson Bagget
  Mark Morgan