ChemE Student Malena Rybacki won’t be put into a box

Rybacki is one of 24 students nationwide selected for the Future Leaders Symposium

Actin’ like Winners

Swanson School and Medicine teams win top prizes at the 2022 Pitt Innovation Challenge Awards

The "Cellular" Network

Utilizing Chemo-Mechanical Oscillations to Mimic Protocell Behavior in Manufactured Microcapsules

Extending an Alliance of Innovation

Ohio-based Lubrizol Corporation and Pitt' Swanson School Build on Research & Process Development Successes with Three-Year, $1 Million Extension of Innovation Collaboration

Gut in a Capsule - The Microbiome as Medicine

Pitt Chemical Engineer Tagbo Niepa Receives $2M from the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award for Work Manipulating the Human Microbiome

A Step Toward Decarbonizing the Chemical Industry

Pitt Engineers Lead $3.5M DOE Project to Advance Carbon-Neutral Hydrogen Technology

ChemE Student Benjamin Hudock can’t stop learning. And he doesn’t want to.

Hudock was chosen for the US Fulbright Program after years of mastering both engineering and foreign language learning.

Model (Virus) Behavior

Pitt Researchers Use Computational Modeling to Understand Why Some Flu Viruses Cause More Severe Infections

Self-assembled, Interlocked Threads: Spinning Yarn with No Machine Needed

Pitt and Princeton engineers discover spontaneous intertwining of 2D polymer sheets into self-rotating 3D “dancing” spirals

Dancing in the Light

Traveling wave of light sparks simple liquid crystal microposts to perform complex dance

Sparking Sustainable New Chemical Catalysts

Pitt Chemical Engineers Show How Tungsten Oxide Can Be Used as a Catalyst in Sustainable Chemical Conversions

Understanding Bacterial Biofilms

Tagbo Niepa Receives $663K NSF CAREER Award for Work on Biofilm Micromechanics and Metabolic Properties

Swanson School of Engineering Professors Named Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors

MEMS' William "Buddy" Clark and ChemE's Steven Little are the 9th and 10th Pitt faculty to be selected as NAI Fellows since its inaugural class named in 2015

Covestro LLC and University of Pittsburgh collaborate to establish groundbreaking Circular Economy Program

Collaboration will establish unique circular design curriculum for graduate and PhD students in the U.S.

Finding the Missing Piece in Global Oil Life-Cycle Assessment

New Research in Nature Models the Relationship Between Carbon Impacts and Market Factors in the Oil Industry

Sustainable Agriculture from the Bottom Up

Pitt Researchers Receive $1.7MM to Rebalance the Nitrogen Cycle

Foiling Electronics Fraudsters

Pitt Engineers Receive $553K from NSF to Develop Electronic Hardware that Thwarts Counterfeiting Attempts

Lightening the Load of Multi-Material Manufacturing with 3D Printing

NSF Future Manufacturing program Awards $500K to Pitt, CMU Engineers

Finding the Fountain of Youth for Catalysts

Pitt Engineers Develop a New Method to Extend the Catalytic Lifetime of Nanoparticles

Eco-Village Seeks to Recirculate Pittsburgh’s Waste

Engineering undergrads hope to make Pittsburgh more sustainable through a community circular economy that optimizes waste management

Modeling a Circular Economy for Electronic Waste

Pitt Engineers Propose Solutions for E-Waste Recycling Fraud

Capturing the Huge Impacts of Tiny Organisms

Pitt Chemical Engineer Receives $315K from NSF to Replicate Microbial Systems

Storing the Sun’s Energy

ChemE’s James McKone will collaborate with small businesses to advance renewable energy and improve storage using solar-powered technology

Chemical & Petroleum Engineering

The Chemical and Petroleum Engineering department at the University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering was established in 1910, making it the first department for petroleum engineering in the world. Today, our department has over 40 expert faculty (tenure/tenure-stream/joint/adjunct), a host of dedicated staff, more than 20 state-of-the-art laboratories and learning centers, and education programs that enrich with strong fundamentals and hands-on experience.

Chemical engineering is concerned with processes in which matter and energy undergo change. The range of concerns is so broad that the chemical engineering graduate is prepared for a variety of interesting and challenging employment opportunities. Chemical engineers with strong background in sciences are found in management, design, operations, and research. Chemical engineers are employed in almost all industries, including food, polymers, chemicals, pharmaceutical, petroleum, medical, materials, and electronics. Since solutions to energy, environmental, and food problems must surely involve chemical changes, there will be continued demands for chemical engineers in the future.

View current open positions with Chemical & Petroleum Engineering.


Quick Links

left arrow
right arrow