## **PITT AWARD**

The Annual Award for Innovation in Coal Conversion, also known as the *Pitt Award*, was founded by the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering of the University of Pittsburgh in 1983 through the support of the following companies: Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.; Consolidation Coal Company; Gulf Research and Development Company - Synthetic Fuels Division; and Westinghouse Electric Corporation.

Since 1992, the award has been fully funded by the CONSOL Energy Inc. The purpose of this award is to honor an individual each year, which has made a recent and significant contribution to the new technologies, new procedures or new policies toward coal utilization.

## PITT AWARD RECIPIENTS

1983	William S. Moorehead, Congressman, U.S. Congress
1984	Robert Hart, Tennessee Eastman Kodak
1985	Ab Flowers, Gas Research Institute
1986	W. Robert Epperly, Exxon Corporation
1987	William B. Krantz, University of Colorado
1988	Seymour B. Alpert, Electrical Power Research Institute
1989	John P. Murtha, Congressman, U.S. Congress
1990	Flynt Kennedy, Consolidation Coal Company
1991	Robert E. Lumpkin, Amoco Corporation
1992	Sun W. Chun, PETC, U.S. Department of Energy
1993	James J. Markowsky, AEP Service Corporation
1994	Thomas F. Bechtel, METC, U.S. Department of Energy
1995	Adel F. Sarofim, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1996	Donald M. Carlton, Radian International LLC
1997	David H. Pai, Foster Wheeler Development Corporation
1998	Masakatsu Nomura, Osaka University, Japan
1999	Frank Derbyshire, CAER, University of Kentucky
2001	Terry Wall, University of Newcastle, NSW, Australia
2002	Rita Bajura, NETL, U.S. Department of Energy
2003	Francis Lau, Institute of Gas Technology
2004	Baoqing Li, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
2005	Kouichi Miura, Kyoto University, Japan
2006	Charles H. Goodman, Southern Company
2007	Ben Jager, Sasol Technology, South Africa
2008	Liang-Shih Fan, The Ohio State University
2009	Michael J. Mudd, The FutureGen Alliance
2010	Guven Onal Istanbul Technical University Turkey

The 2011 Recipient Michael G. Morris

American Electric Power Columbus, OH



Mr. Michael G. Morris is the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of American Electric Power. He has been a leader among power producer executives in supporting the development of clean coal technologies for reducing coal's environmental footprint. He believes that coal will continue to play a key role in the production of electricity in the future.

This Award recognizes his outstanding leadership and distinguished services in the power industry and his personal contributions to the development of innovative technologies for coal-based power generation and advanced interstate electricity distribution systems. These include: (1) construction and operation of the world's first integrated carbon capture and storage system at a power plant, (2) ultra-supercritical coal combustion technology, (3) advanced high-voltage transmission for efficient electricity distribution, and (4) new intelligent grid technologies to provide greater service quality, reliability and control of energy usage to customers.

Mr. Morris is past chairman of the Edison Electric Institute, Institute of Nuclear Power Operations and Nuclear Electric Insurance Limited. He serves on the U.S. Department of Energy's Electricity Advisory Board and the National Governors Association's Task Force on Electricity Infrastructure, and Business Roundtable. He also serves as a director of the boards of Alcoa, Battelle and Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.

Mr. Morris graduated from Eastern Michigan University with B. S. and M. S. degrees in biology. He also received a law degree, cum laude, from the Detroit College of Law and is a member of the Michigan Bar Association.

## **2011** *Annual*

## **AWARDS PROGRAM**



Twenty-Eighth Annual International Pittsburgh Coal Conference September 12 – 15, 2011 Pittsburgh, PA



University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering

Presented at the Awards Luncheon

Thursday, September 15, 2011

The David L. Lawrence Convention Center Pittsburgh, PA

Sponsoring Organization CONSOL Energy Inc.