Sustainability Awards

Check back in the Fall of 2018 to nominate a Pitt leader in Sustainability.

The Pitt Sustainability Awards program aims to recognize Pitt faculty, staff and students who are making an extraordinary impact on campus sustainability.  We want to recognize and celebrate the many individuals on campus who are committed to making Pitt’s campus and academic programs as sustainable as possible. These individuals could have demonstrated their impact through a variety of ways including generating awareness, implementing projects or catalyzing new initiatives in education, research or practice.


Faculty category:  David Sanchez, civil & environmental engineering
Student category:  Sarah Grguras, undergraduate, geology & environmental sciences 
Staff category:  Gina Gowins, parking & transportation and Andrew Moran, facilities management
Group category:  Pitt Pantry
Student category: Fossil Free Pitt Coalition


Faculty category:  Dan Bain
, Geology and Environmental Science
Student category:  Alyssa Martinec
, Political Science 
Staff category:  Rich Heller
, Facilities Management and Nick Goodfellow, Dining
Group category:  Food Recovery Heroes

Faculty category:  Ward Allebach
, MSES, Geology & Environmental Science and Jacob Bethem, MSPhil, adjunct faculty, Pitt Greensburg
Student category:  Naomi Anderson, civil and environmental engineering  and Anna Greenberg, environmental studies 
Student Group category:  University of Thriftsburgh   
Group Category:  Surplus Property

Faculty category:  Walter Carson
, biological sciences
Staff category:  Elizabeth Tiedemann, student services at Pitt, Greensburg
Student category:  Troy Salvatore, civil and environmental engineering and Sage Lincoln, urban studies & environmental geology  
Group category:  Student Computing Services Team, CSSD

2018 Awards Committee
Ward Allebach, Instructor, Department of Geology & Environmental Science
Nick Goodfellow, Sustainability Coordinator, Pitt Dining Services by Sodexo
Rich Heller, Senior Electrical Engineer, Facilities Managemen
Gena Kovalcik, Codirector, Mascaro Center for Sustainable Innovation
Alyssa Martinec, undergraduate student, Political Science 

2015-2017 Awards Committee
Melissa Bilec, Associate Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Deputy Director, MCS
Gena Kovalcik, Codirector, Mascaro Center for Sustainable Innovation
Erika Ninos, Sustainability Program Coordinator, Office of Student Affairs
Troy Salvatore, Student Intern, Student Office of Sustainability (2016-2017 awards committee)
Joe Streets, Student Intern, Student Office of Sustainability (2015-2016 awards committee)
Laura Zullo, Senior Manager, Utilities and Sustainability



Mascaro Center

Mascaro Center for Sustainable Innovation
University of Pittsburgh
Swanson School of Engineering
153 Benedum Hall
Pittsburgh, PA 15261

Join Mailing List