Pitt | Swanson Engineering
Swanson School Board of Visitors

Members of the Board of Visitors (as of August 2017)

Chair:  Roberta A. Luxbacher
Vice Chair:  George A. Davidson Jr.

[*Alumnus, +Former Trustee, #Trustee Emeritus]

The purpose of the Board of Visitors is to provide the Dean of the Swanson School of Engineering and the Provost and Chancellor of the University with an independent appraisal of the school's research, teaching, and administrative practices, and to assist the School in an effort to continue strengthening the quality of its programs. 

*Roberta (Robbi) A. Luxbacher
Retired Vice President, Wholesale & Specialties - Global Business Unit
ExxonMobil Fuels, Lubricants and Specialties Marketing Company

*Stephen R. Tritch
Retired Chairman, Westinghouse Electric Company

#*George A. Davidson Jr.
Retired Chairman, Dominion

#*Paul E. Lego
Retired Chairman and CEO, Westinghouse Electric Corporation

#*Frank  E. Mosier
Mosier Enterprises, Inc.

*John A. Swanson
Founder and Chief Technologist, ANSYS, Inc.
Renewable Energy (Solar) Expert

* Thomas J. Usher
Retired Chairman, Marathon Petroleum Corporation

*Robert O. Agbede
Vice Chairman, Hatch USA

David L. Brown
Chief Market Strategist, Sabrient Systems

*David K. Bucklew
Senior Vice President, North America Sales, Eaton Corporation

Stephen W. Director
Provost Emeritus, Northeastern University

*Wilson J. Farmerie
Retired President, The Techs

*Kathryn J. Jackson, PhD
Director, Energy & Technology Consulting, KeySource
Retired CTO, Westinghouse and RTI International Metals

*Edward F. Kondis
Retired Vice President, Mobil Corporation

*Francis J. Kramer
Chairman, II-VI Incorporated

Frank L. Lederman
Retired Vice President and CTO, Alcoa Inc.

*Nick J. Liparulo
Retired Senior Vice President, Westinghouse Electric Company

*Robert H. Luffy
Retired President and CEO, American Bridge

*Robert v.d. Luft
Retired Chairman, Entergy and DuPont International

*Richard J. Madden
Retired CEO, Computerm Corporation

*John C. Mascaro
Chairman, Mascaro Construction Company, LP

*James J. McCaffrey
Senior Vice President – Energy Marketing, CONSOL Energy Inc.

*Gerald E. McGinnis
Retired Chairman and Founder, Respironics, Inc.

*David L. Motley

*John W. Pavia
Retired President, UEC Consulting, LLC

*Robert Francis Savinell
Distinguished University Professor and George S. Dively Professor of Engineering, Case Western Reserve University

*Jack W. Shilling
Retired Executive Vice President, Strategic Initiatives and Technology and Chief Technology Officer, Allegheny Technologies

*Kenneth S. Smialek
Consumer Industry Consultant

*Lester C. Snyder III
President and Chief Executive Officer, Infrastructure and Industrial Constructors USA LLC (i+icon)


*Humberto Vainieri
President, Vainieri Consulting

*Barry J. Wetzel
Retired President and CEO, Clark Screw Machine Products Company

Patrick D. Gallagher
Chancellor, University of Pittsburgh

Ann E. Cudd
Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor, University of Pittsburgh

Kathy Humphrey

Senior Vice Chancellor for Engagement, Chief of Staff, and Secretary of the Board of Trustees, University of Pittsburgh

James R. Martin II
U.S. Steel Dean of Engineering, Swanson School of Engineering