Faculty
Dr. Sanford Asher

Distinguished Professor

Chemistry

asher@pitt.edu

 Applied work includes the spectroscopic investigation of protein structure and function, and development of a chemical understanding of the gas phase and solid phase reactions occurring during synthesis of diamond in CVD diamond reactors.

Kevin Abbott

Adjunct Professor

Law

kabbott@reedsmith.com

Oil and gas law

Dr. Ariel Armony

Senior Director

UCIS

armony@pitt.edu

 Latin American politics, democratization, and the role of China in Latin America. 

Dr. Andrew Bunger

Assistant Professor

CEE

bunger@pitt.edu

Core discing, Emplacement mechanics of magma instrusions, Fracture mechanics, Hydraulic fracturing, Interaction between shale formations and drilling fluids and Poroelasticity.

Dr. Melissa Bilec

Assistant Professor

CEE

mbilec@pitt.edu

Sustainable engineering, high-performance buildings, life cycle assessment, sustainable healthcare

Dr. Mostafa Bedewy

Assistant Professor

IE

mbedewy@pitt.edu

Science and technology of nanomanufacturing; nondestructive materials characterization and metrology; product design and manufacturing of surgical tools and medical devices; precision engineering of scientific instruments and machines; synthesis and self-organization of nanofilaments and fibers; bottom-up self assembly of 2D/3D nanoparticle structures; patterning and selective binding of biomolecular systems

Dr. Hessam Babaee

Assistant Professor

MEMS

h.babaee@pitt.edu

Computational fluid dynamics and heat transfer, Multi-physics modeling, Multi-fidelity modeling, Stochastic modeling, Uncertainty quantification, High performance computing, Flow instability, Computational electromagnetics.

Dr. Dan Cole

Associate Professor and Interim Director, Nucelear Engineering

MEMS

dgcole@pitt.edu

Single-molecule experiments

Dr. Thomas Congedo

Adjunct Professor & Associate Director, Stephen R.Tritch Nuclear Engineering Program

MEMS

tvc9@pitt.edu

nuclear industry, including nuclear core design, nuclear reactor safety, nuclear fuel criticality and manufacturing safety. 

Dr. William (Buddy) Clark

Professor

MEMS

wclark@pitt.edu

 

Dr. Moni Kanchan Datta

Research Assistant Professor

BioE

mkd16@pitt.edu

Bone tissue engineering and renewable energy science.

Dr. Robert Enick

Bayer Professor

Chem E

rme@pitt.edu

petroleum engineering; CO2 solubility; carbon capture; high pressure phase behavior 

Dr. Susan Fullerton

Assistant Professor

ChemE

fullerton@pitt.edu

polymer, electrolyte, nanoelectronics, transition metal 

Dr. Sean Garrett-Roe

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

sgr@pitt.edu

Ultrafast dynamics; nonlinear spectroscopy; biophysics; solvation dynamics; ion channels; ionic liquids.

Dr. Alan George

Professor and Department Chair

ECE

alan.george@pitt.edu

Space processors, networks, systems, services, applications and missions. High-performance computer architectures, networks, systems, services and applications.

Dr. Brandon Grainger

Research Assistant Professor

ECE

bmg10@pitt.edu

Electric Power Conversion, Medium to High Voltage Power Electronics (HVDC and STATCOM), General Power Electronic Converter Design (Topology, Controller Design, Magnetics) and High Power Density Design, Power Semiconductor Evaluation (SiC and GaN) and Reliability Assessment, Military Power Systems, DC System Design and Protection, Fault Identification Techniques, and Microgrids.

Dr. Shanti Gamper-Rabindran

Associate Professor

GSPIA

shanti1@pitt.edu

Corporate social responsibility programs' impact on environment and occupational hazards; benefits/gentrification effects of hazaardous waste cleanup policies; environmental and health impact of development policies

Dr. Brian Gleeson

Harry S. Track Chair

MEMS

bmg36@pitt.edu

High-temperature degradation of metallic alloys and coatings; Thermodynamics and kinetics of gas/solid and solid/solid reactions

Dr. Daniel Gill

Faculty Lecturer

MEMS

dfg3@pitt.edu

 

Dr. Geoff Hutchinson

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

geoffh@pitt.edu

Materials Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry, Advanced Functional Materials, Computational Materials Design, Inorganic Synthesis

Dr. William Harbert

Professor

Geology

harbert@pitt.edu

Tectonic, volcanic and surface processes; energy geosciences

Dr. Joel Haight

Associate Professor

IE

jmh212@pitt.edu 

Human factors engineering and human error; intervention effectiveness

Dr. Anthony Iannacchione

Associate Professor

CEE

ati2@pitt.edu

Environmental controls in mining, strata control engineering, mining health and safety, mine ventilation engineering, risk management.

Dr. J Karl Johnson

William Kepler Whiteford Professor

ChemE

karlj@pitt.edu

computational modeling; nanoporous materials, CO2 capture and reduction; energy storage

Dr. Daniel Jiang

Assistant Professor

IE

drjiang@pitt.edu

Energy and sustainability, approximate dynamic programming, Markov decision processes, risk-averse decision making, stochastic optimization 

Dr. Tevis Jacobs

Assistant Professor

MEMS

tjacobs@pitt.edu

Wear-resistant diamond nanoprobe tips with integrated silicon heater for tip-based nanomanufacturing

Dr. Prashant Kumta

Edward R. Weidlein Chair Professor

BioE

pkumta@pitt.edu

Engineering natural polymers and membrane architectures. Nanostructured catalysts and supports for water electroysis. Novel biodegradable metals for craniofacial and orthopedic applications.

Dr. Katrina M. Kelly

Director, Business Development

Center for Energy

kmkelly@pitt.edu

 

Dr. John Keith

Assistant Professor, RK Mellon Faculty Fellow

ChemE

jakeith@pitt.edu

catalysis; computational chemistry; materials; renewable energy

Dr. Alexis Kwasinski

Associate Professor, RK Mellon Faculty Fellow

ECE

akwasins@pitt.edu

Energy systems, microgrids, power electronic systems, resilient power and communications infrastructures, sustainable power

Dr. Robert Kerestes

Assistant Professor

ECE

rjk39@pitt.edu

 

Dr. John Keeler

Dean and Professor

GSPIA

keeler@pitt.edu

Comparative public policy, EU politics, transatlantic relations, American foreign policy.

Dr. Jeffrey Kharoufeh

Associate Professor

IE

jkharouf@pitt.edu

Applied probability, stochastic processes, energy systems, reliability/maintenance optimization, queuing theory 

Dr. Jeen-Shang Lin

Associate Professor

CEE

jslin@pitt.edu

Started a collaboration with NETL by working on the drilling mechanics under high pressure and high temperature environment using finite elements and discrete elements. Geomechanics of methane hydrate bearing sediments.

Dr. Daniel Lambrecht

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

qclab@pitt.edu

Theoretical and Computational Chemistry; Reduced Scaling and Efficient Approaches; Computational Catalysis

Dr. Paul Leu

Assistant Professor

IE

pleu@pitt.edu 

 

Dr. Sangyeop Lee

Assistant Professor

MEMS

sylee@pitt.edu

 Transport phenomena of heat, charge, and mass – simulation and experimental characterization of nanoscale transport; thermal transport in novel materials including 2D layered materials, phase change materials, ferroelectric materials, and soft matters; transport phenomena at interface; multi-scale simulation from nano to macroscale

Michael Madison

Faculty Director

Innovation Practice Institute

Professor of Law

madison@pitt.edu

Dr. James McKone

Assistant Professor

Chem E

jmckone@pitt.edu

electrochemistry, catalysis, energy, sustainability, materials

Dr. Giannis Mpourmpakis

Assistant Professor

ChemE

gmpourmp@pitt.edu

catalytic processes on metals and metal oxides; hydrogen storage; nanoparticle growth

Dr. Daniel Mosse

Computer Science

mosse@pitt.edu

Power energy and temperatrue aware systems, real-time systems, scheduling, distributed systems, wireless networking.

Dr. Zhi-Hong Mao

Associate Professor

ECE

zhm4@pitt.edu

Control of networked and large-scale dynamical systems, Human-in-the-looop control systems

Dr. Andrea La Nauze

Assistant Professor

Economics

lanauze@pitt.edu

Financing for sustainability, rooftop and a downward-sloping supply of electricity, learning about climate change

Dr. Nathaniel Rosi

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

nrosi@pitt.edu

Inorganic and Materials Chemistry, Metal-Organic Frameworks, Nanoparticle Assembly, Materials for Sustainable Energy.

Dr. Gregory Reed

Professor and Director, Electric Power Initiative and Lab Director, Center for Energy

ECE

gfr3@pitt.edu

Dr. Reed's research interests include advanced power & energy generation, transmission, and distribution systems and technologies, with specific activities in the following areas: power electronics (FACTS, HVDC and MVDC) and control technologies; microgrids and DC infrastructure development; renewable energy systems and integration; smart grid technologies and applications; energy storage systems; energy efficiency; and power quality. 

Dr. Jayant Rajgopal

Professor

IE

rajgopal@pitt.edu

Mathematical modeling, linear and nonlinear optimization, supply chain/logistics, healthcare operations 

Dr. David Sanchez

Assistant Professor

CEE

david.sanchez@pitt.edu

 

Dr. William Stanchina

Chairman

ECE

wes25@pitt.edu

 Electrical Engineering Solid State

Dr. Brian Stewart

Associate Professor

Geology

bstewart@pitt.edu

Tectonic, volcanic and surface processes; environmental geochemistry and biochemistry; energy geosciences; planetary science and astrobiology; hydrologic processes

Dr. David Tipper

Info Systems

dtipper@pitt.edu

Network design and traffic restoration; procedures for survivable networks; simulation and queuing theory with emphasis on transient/nonstationary behavior; virtual network design; and network control algorithms.

Dr. Albert To

Assistant Professor

MEMS

albertto@pitt.edu

Molecular mechanics

Dr. Luis Vallejo

Professor

CEE

vallejo@pitt.edu

Application of fracture mechanics and fractal theories to geotechnical engineering; cracking of soils; interface shear strength between soils and geomembranes; mechanical properties of cellular concrete; mechanics of crushing of granular materials; mechanics of sand liquefaction; mechanics of slaking of shales; mobilization mechanics of mudflows and debris flows; shear strength of soils; stability and evolution mechanics of natural slopes; subsidence due to long wall mining 

Dr. Radisav Vidic

W.K. Whiteford Faculty Professor and Chairman

CEE

vidic@pitt.edu

Environmental engineering, physical chemical processes, surface science, water management for unconventional gas resource extraction, water reuse

Dr. Goetz Veser

Associate Professor and Associate Director, Center for Energy

ChemE

gveser@pitt.edu

catalysis; process intensification; nanomaterials; nanotoxicity

Dr. Jeffery Vipperman

Associate Professor

MEMS

jsv@pitt.edu

Acoustic metamaterials and advanced manufacturing

Dr. Christopher Wilmer

Assistant Professor

ChemE

wilmer@pitt.edu

computational materials discovery; energy; hypothetical materials; molecular modeling

Dr. Craig Wilcox

Professor

Chemistry

daylite@pitt.edu

New Methods for Chemical Discovery; New Reactions; Models for Protein Folding; Precipitons; Molecular Torsion Balance; Physical Organic Chemistry of Solid Phase Synthesis

Dr. David Waldeck

Professor

Chemistry

dave@pitt.edu

Methods of spectroscopy, electrochemistry, and microscopy to investigate primary processes in the condensed phase, which includes liquids, solids and liquid/solid interfaces. 

Dr. Stephen Weber

Professor

Chemistry

sweber@pitt.edu

Separations and electrochemistry are generally our focus, but we own or share with another group a variety of spectroscopic instrumentation, e.g. fluorescence, spr, FTIR, and triple quadruple mass spectrometry. 

Dr. Jeremy Weber

Asssistant Professor

GSPIA

jgw99@pitt.edu

Energy and natural resource economics, agricultural economics, development economics. Oil and gas extraction, property values and economic growth; managing natural resource and land wealth; economic sustainability; agricultural policy

Dr. Guofeng Wang

Assistant Professor

MEMS

guw8@pitt.edu

Acoustic wave sensors; electroactive nanocomposites; multimode thin film bulk acoustic wave resonates; nanomaterials and on-chip assembly of nanodevices;

Dr. Jorg Wiezorek

Associate Professor

MEMS

wiezorek@pitt.edu

Dynamic in-situ & quantitative electron & x-ray diffraction; high-performance materials for multi-functional, energy technologies and extreme environments; physical metallurgy & metal physics

Dr. Feng Xiong

Assistant Professor

ECE

f.xiong@pitt.edu

Energy-efficient electronics, flexible/wearable electronics, novel 1D and 2D materials, next-generation memory devices (PCM and RRAM), neuromorphic computing, nanoscale thermal transport, thermoelectric energy harvest, renewable energy harvesting

Dr. Wei Xiong

Assistant Professor

MEMS

weixiong@pitt.edu

Physical Metallurgy, Advanced Materials Design, Additive Manufacturing, High Throughput Experiments, Data Mining and Materials Genome, Integrated Computational Materials Design and Applications, Calorimetry, Phase Transformation, Thermodynamics and Diffusion

Dr. Judith Yang

Professor

ChemE

judyyang@pitt.edu

surface science; catalysis; nanomaterials; materials characterization 

Dr. Bo Zeng

Assistant Professor

IE

bzeng@pitt.edu

Bilevel and multilevel optimization, stochastic and robust mixed integer optimization, cyber-physical design, security and reliability, power and energy systems, computational healthcare