Pitt | Swanson Engineering
Spring 2017 Homework Assignments

Homework Assignments - Spring 2018

There are two types of assignments:

  1. In Class assignments - Completed in one lab/class period. A printed copy of your inclass programming problems must be handed in at the end of each session. They will not be graded in detail, but must be completed successfully, using acceptable programming style.
  2. Weekly homework - Completed in one week. Assignment handed in on typically on Tuesday, see the schedule below. For each assignment, you will be required to submit a copy of your program electronically on a disk. We will run these programs to verify that they do run correctly. Your grade will be based upon programming style as well as accuracy.

NOTE:

Documents ending with .pdf extension are Adobe Acrobat files. The latter are viewed via Acrobat Reader. All the machines in the labs have this software pre-installed. Just clicking on the link should bring the file up on your screen, from where you can directly print it out if you wish by just clicking on the printer icon (if you are viewing this page from home or from some other machine that does not have Acrobat Reader installed on it, click on the button at the end of this paragraph to get a free copy from the Adobe web site).

Homework Assignments

Matlab Assignments

  • Assignment 1, in pdf format. Assignment due Tuesday, January 16, 2018
  • Assignment 2, in pdf format. Assignment due Tuesday, January 23, 2018
  • Assignment 2 grading key, in pdf format
  • Assignment 3, in pdf format. Assignment due Thursday, January 25, 2018
  • Assignment 3 grading key, in pdf format. Note, the data file is posted on CourseWeb
  • As part of the writing assignment take this survey, due Tuesday, January 23, 2018
  • Assignment 4, in pdf format. Assignment due Tuesday, January 30, 2018
  • Assignment 4 grading key, in pdf format.
  • Assignment 5, in pdf format. Assignment due Thursday, February 1, 2018
  • Assignment 5 grading key, in pdf format.
  • Assignment 6, in pdf format. Assignment due Tuesday, February 6, 2018
  • Assignment 6 grading key, in pdf format.
  • Assignment 7, in pdf format. Assignment due Thursday, February 8, 2018
  • Assignment 7 grading key, in pdf format.
  • Assignment 8, in pdf format. Assignment due Tuesday, February 13, 2018
  • Assignment 8 grading key, in pdf format.
  • Assignment 9, in pdf format. Assignment due Tuesday, February 20, 2018
  • Assignment 9 grading key, in pdf format.
  • Assignment 10 , in pdf format. Assignment due Tuesday, February 27, 2018.
  • Assignment 10 grading key, in pdf format.

C Assignments

  • Assignment 11, in pdf format. First C Assignment. Assignment due Tuesday, March 20, 2018
  • Assignment 11 grading key, in pdf format.
  • Assignment 12, in pdf format. Assignment due Tuesday, March 27, 2018
  • Assignment 12 grading key, in pdf format.
  • Assignment 13, in pdf format. Assignment due Thursday, March 29, 2018
  • Assignment 13 grading key, in pdf format.
  • Assignment 14, in pdf format. Assignment due Thursday, April 5, 2018
  • Assignment 14 grading key, in pdf format.
  • Assignment 15 with grading key, in pdf format. Assignment due Tuesday, April 10, 2018
  • Assignment 16 with grading key, in pdf format. Assignment due Tuesday, April 17, 2018
  • Assignment 16 solution. Will be posted after Tuesday. Use this as a guide to practice for the exam.

Conference Paper

  • Conference call for papers
  • Submit your Proposal,
    Proposal due Tuesday, January 16, 2018 by 8 pm.
  • Submit your Revised Proposal with Annotated Bibliography
    Due Friday, January 26, 2018 by 8 pm.
  • Submit your Annotated Outline
    Friday, February 9, 2018 by 8 pm
  • Your conference paper must follow the following formatting guidelines.
  • Submit your Conference Paper,
    Papers due Thursday, March 1, 2018 by 8 pm.
  • Peer Review of papers. Download the paper assigned to you (check your CourseWeb grades) and complete the review form .
    Peer Review Assignment due Tuesday March 13, 2018.
  • Guide to help you with listing your references Research guide .
  • Guide to help you with your final revisions Research guide .
  • Submit your Final Revised Conference paper,
    Papers due 8 pm Friday March 30, 2018
  • Submit your Poster Presentations,
    Presentations due by 8 pm Sunday April 1, 2018.
  • Conference all day Saturday April 7, 2018
  • The writing assignments in ENGR0011 and ENGR0012 are designed to meet the University General Writing Requirements. Any student that does not complete the conference paper with a final grade of at least a C, will be required to take the university 3 credit general writing course

Tests

  • Computer Part Test 1 Thursday March 1, 2018 in class
  • Written Part Test 1 Tuesday February 27, 2018, in TBA at 7 pm
  • Computer Final Thursday April 19, 2018 in class
  • Final Exam Friday April 27, 2018 from 10:00 am - 11:50 am in GSCC138, BEND229, BEND318, DL120, DL121