Pitt | Swanson Engineering
Approved Courses

* Please note, the courses in BOLD at the bottom of the list have not been taught in the past three years.

Dept Number Title Instructor Instructor Email
BIOENG 2001 Mathematical Methods in Bioengineering  Tin-Kan Hung  tkhung@pitt.edu  
BIOST 2049 Applied Regression Analysis Ada Youk ayouk@pitt.edu
BIOST 2042 Intro to Statistical Methods 2 John Wilson jww@pitt.edu
ChE 2410 Methods in Applied Math for Chem Engs  
ECE 2671 Optimization Methods    
ECE 2082 Linear Optimization     
ECE  2521 Analysis of Stochastic Processes      
ECE 2523 Digital Signal Processing     
Math 2070 Numerical methods in scientific computing 1 Myron Sussman mms125@pitt.edu
Math 2071 Numerical methods in scientific computing 2 Myron Sussman mms125@pitt.edu
Math 2090 Numerical Solution of ODEs Ivan Yotov yotov@pitt.edu
Math 2370 Matrices and linear operators 1 Jonathan Holland jeh89@pitt.edu
Math 2371 Matrices and linear operators 2 Evgueni Trofimov evt3@pitt.edu
Math 2500 Algebra 1 Alexandr Borisov borisov@pitt.edu
Math 2700 Topology 1 Paul Gartside pmg20@pitt.edu
Math 2800 Differential Geometry 1 Thomas Hales hales@pitt.edu
Math 2801 Differential Geometry 2 Thomas Hales hales@pitt.edu
Math

2950

Methods in Applied Math G Ermentrout bard@pitt.edu
 Math 2960  Computational Fluid Mechanics     
 Math 3070  Numerical solution of non-linear systems     
Math 3071 Numerical solution of PDEs Ivan Yotov yotov@pitt.edu
Math 3072 The finite element method Ivan Yotov yotov@pitt.edu
Math 3370 Computational Models in Neurobiology G Ermentrout bard@pitt.edu
 Math 3075  Parallel Finite Element Method     
Math 3375 COMPUTATIONAL NEUROSCIENCE METHODS G Ermentrout bard@pitt.edu
Math 3380 Mathematics in Molecular Biology G Ermentrout bard@pitt.edu
Math 2601-2604 Advanced Scientific Computing 1-4 William Layton wjl@pitt.edu
Math 2900-01 PDEs 1 and 2 Anna Vainchtein aav4@pitt.edu
Math 2920-21 ODEs 1 and 2 Jonathan Rubin jonrubin@pitt.edu
ME 2001 Differential equations Giovanni Galdi galdi@pitt.edu
ME 2002 Linear and complex analyses Giovanni Galdi galdi@pitt.edu
Stat 2220 Applied Regression Carl Bodenschatz cboden@pitt.edu
Stat 2661 Linear Models Theory 1 Allan Sampson asampson@pitt.edu

* Please note, the courses in BOLD at the bottom of the list have not been taught in the past three years.

Dept Number Title Instructor Instructor Email
BIOENG 2065 Introduction to Cell Mechanobiology James Wang  
BIOENG 2500 Intro to Cell and Molecular Biology Rich Koepsel  

BIOENG

2520 Molecular and Cell Biology and Biophysics  Partha Roy

mailto:proy@pitt.edu

BIOENG 2620 Introduction to Tissue Engineering  Kacey Marra   
BIOENG 2530 Biochemistry for Engineers  Rich Koepsel   
BIOENG   3702  Human Anatomy and Imaging  Hostler   
BIOSC 2070  Immunology     
HPRED  2390  Nutrition in Sport and Exercise  Otto, Amy   
HRS 2004  Pathophysiology Across the Life Span   Alexander, Sheila   
HRS 2301  Selected Topics in Anatomy     
HRS  2306  Motor Learning and Control of Movement/Health Promotion Susan Whitney whitney@pitt.edu  
HRS  2307  Fall and Balance Dysfunction     
HRS  2356  Concepts and Principles Related to Sensory Motor     
HRS 2710  Functional Neuromuscular Stimulation     
HRS 2771  Functional Anatomy and Physiology  Ray Burdett  rgb@pitt.edu  
HRS  2772  Orthology of Pathology and Prosthetics Robert Mundell r.mundell@comcast.net  
HRS 3898 Laboratory Techniques in Sports Medicine Timothy Sell tcs15@pitt.edu
INTBP 2100  Scientific Basis of Vision     
MSBMG 2520  Eukaryotic Molecular Genetics   John Chaillet  chaillet@pitt.edu  
MSCBIO / CMPBIO 2030 Introduction to Computational Structural Biology Daniel Zuckerman dmz@ccbb.pitt.edu
MSCMP 2730 Molecular Mechanisms of Tissue Growth and Diff. Katyal Bell  
MSCMP 2740 Molecular Pathobiology Tim Oury tdoury@pitt.edu
MSCMP 2820 Topics in Integrative Physiology    
MSCBMP 2830 Cellular and Molecular Physiology    
MSCMP 2880 Cellular Biology of Normal and Disease States    
MSCMP 3710 Cancer Biology and Therapeutics Abdolreza Zarnegar
Thomas Kensler
rezazar@pitt.edu
MSCMP 3740 Stem Cells Satdarshan Monga smonga@pitt.edu
MSCMP 3750 Angiogenesis: MOLECULAR PATHWAYS AND
PATHOPHYSIOLOGICAL FUNCTIONS
Shiyuan Cheng chengs@upmc.edu
MSCMP  3770  Cell Therapy     
MSCMP 3780 A Systems Approach to Inflammation Yoram Vodovotz vodovotz@pitt.edu
MSIMM 2210 Comprehensive Immunology    
MSMBPH / MOLBPH 2001 Molecular Biophysics 1 (Biophysical Methods) Joanne Yeh, John Rosenberg jiyeh@pitt.edu; rosenbrg@pitt.edu
MSMBPH / MOLBPH 2002 Molecular Biophysics 2: Theory and Simulation Daniel Zuckerman dmz@ccbb.pitt.edu
MSMBPH / MOLBPH 2003 Molecular Biophysics 3 (Biomolecular Interactions and Dynamics) Sandord Leuba leuba@pitt.edu
MSMGBD  2525  Developmental Mechanisms of Human Disease     
MSMPHL 3360 Molecular Pharmacology    
MSNBIO  2614  Neuropharmacology  Michael Palladino  mjp44@pitt.edu  
MSNBIO  2640  Neuropharmacology  Michael Palladino mjp44@pitt.edu  
MSNBIO 2070  Human Physiology  Bill Yates byates@pitt.edu
NROSCI 2005 Cognitive Neuroscience Carl Olson colson@cnbc.cmu.edu
NROSCI 2011 Functional Neuroanatomy Susan Sesack sesack@bns.pitt.edu
NROSCI 2035 Control of Movement Marc Sommer masommer@pitt.edu
MSNBIO 2070 Human Physiology Billy Joe Yates byates@pitt.edu
NROSCI 2100 Cellular and Molecular Neurobiology Carl Lagenaur lagenaur@pitt.edu
NROSCI 2102 Systems Neuroscience Dan Simons  
NROSCI/MSNBIO  2112  Neurobiology     

BIOENG 2525 APPLIED BIOSTATISTICS

BIOINF 2118 PROBABILITY AND STATISTICS FORBIOMEDICAL INFORMATICS   

BIOST 2014: INTRODUCTION TO BIOSTATISTICS FOR BIOMEDICAL SCIENTISTS  

BQOM 2401 STATISTICAL ANALYSIS: UNCERT
CMU 36-746 STATISTICAL METHODS FOR NEUROSCIENCE*
CMU 36-759 STATISTICAL MODELS OF THE BRAIN* 
PSY 2010 STATISTICAL ANALYSIS 2
STAT 2220 APPLIED REGRESSION
STAT 2221 ADVANCED APPLIED MULTIVARIATE ANALYSIS
*Note that these courses will only count with prior approval from the BioE Graduate Coordinator as a statistics course for those students in the Neural Engineering track area provided those students have a formal background in statistics, via an undergraduate degree or other means. Any questions and requests for the required approval should be directed to the Graduate Coordinator.